Computer systems and computers are not the only ones with security vulnerabilities: mobile devices and applications are also very vulnerable to cyber attacks. Some vulnerabilities are more frequent on this type of technical environment and it is necessary to detect them, from the creation phase of an application until the end of its life cycle.

I - Security on Android and iOS: two rooms, two atmospheres

On the smartphone market, two operating systems predominate: iOS and Android. In June 2021, their combined market share is 99.9% on the French market.

Apple and Android market share by country

Source : Apple or Android Nation? Statista

These two operating systems have their own specificities in terms of application development. Indeed, while iOS applications are mainly programmed in Objective-C, Java is used on Android.

The same applies to their installation, configuration, programming environment, design, testing and management of the cybersecurity strategy.

II - The main types of vulnerabilities in mobile applications

Before listing the main vulnerabilities observed in mobile applications, it is important to remember that there are two categories of flaws in this type of software: unwanted behavior and vulnerability.

The unwanted behavior occurs unexpectedly by doing unnecessary actions in the background of the application.

We speak of vulnerability when the flaw does not result from a user's behavior but from the very structure of the application.

Vulnerability #1: lack of jailbreak detection

Jailbreaking, also known as unlocking, is a process that allows a user to bypass the security restrictions of an operating system at its root. This method is particularly used on iOS to download applications that are not present on the official market (like Cydia, well known to " jailbreakers ").

Applications running in an unlocked environment remain more vulnerable and it is necessary to take this parameter into account when developing an application via jailbreak detection systems.

Vulnerability #2: Too little protection for transport protocols

The purpose of the TPC(Transmission Control Protocol) and IP(Internet Protocol) transport protocols is to transmit data from one machine to another.

Diagram for securing an IP

Source: Just how secure is the TCP/IP protocol?, BBC

Whether on the web or in an application, it is essential that the data flowing between the different layers is secure. Without this, it is at risk of being intercepted by malicious entities. To secure transport protocols, the best practice is to implement a data encryption process.

Vulnerability #3: Authentication Breakdown

Broken authentication occurs when an attacker compromises an authentication system by stealing a password, session ID, login key or other login information. This common violation results in three types of attacks:credential stuffing,brute force access and sessionhijacking.

The consequences of a breach of authentication can be data breach, identity theft or hijacking. To mitigate this problem, users should be forced to create complex passwords.

Vulnerability #4: Absence or invalidity of a security certificate

Securing applications also requires an encryption protocol. The SSL/TLS certificate is not limited to websites and also concerns mobile applications. However, many application servers do not have a valid SSL/TLS certificate.

Installing an SSL/TLS certificate on your server is essential and ensures that user data, both stored and in transit, remains protected and is not compromised.

Vulnerability #5: Lack of an Expiration Process

A session is the period of time that a user is active on your site or application. If an application's session expiration process is insufficient (or even non-existent), the user's account is exposed to attacks and the violation of their personal data.

It is therefore necessary to find a balance between UX (not asking the user to reconnect to make his experience less pleasant) and the security of the application.

Vulnerability #6: Poor control of data deserialization

In programmatic language, data deserialization is the act of extracting data from a stream and converting it into a format useful to the application. Deserialization engines are often subject to attacks. To avoid this, it is essential to always verify the source of the data and not to accept serialized objects from unapproved sources.

Vulnerability #7: Use of known vulnerable components

Not all components, frameworks and APIs are created equal when it comes to cyber security. Some APIs - even popular ones - are vulnerable to cyberattacks, and you should make sure they are reliable before integrating them into your application structure.

Vulnerability #8: Inadequate Cyber Security

When a cybersecurity strategy exists in the organization, the release of an application must, at a minimum, comply with the defined rules. However, it may happen that the strategy in place does not include rules specific to applications, or that it is imprecise or incomplete. In this case, it is necessary to define the security standard.

For example, a mobile backend can be set up. This involves setting up an intermediary space between data exchanges concerning the company and client-side security. The mobile backend will be the only access point for applications to the information system. It will generate alerts to IT teams in case of inappropriate use and will connect in a really secure way, for example via VPN, to the company's information system. For example, we can plan to set up a mobile backend. This means setting up an intermediary space between the data exchanges concerning the company and the security on the client side. The mobile backend will be the only access point for applications to the information system. It will generate alerts to IT teams in case of inappropriate use and will connect in a truly secure way, for example via VPN, to the company's information system.

Conclusion

Les applications mobiles n’échappent pas aux obligations croissantes de la cybersécurité. Pour en savoir plus sur le sujet, découvrez nos 5 bonnes pratiques pour sécuriser une application mobile.

You have an application project and want to put all the chances on your side so that it is secure and efficient? Ask our cybersecurity specialists for advice!

Share this article!

Les systèmes informatiques et les ordinateurs n’ont pas l’apanage des failles de sécurité : les appareils et applications mobiles sont également très exposés aux cyberattaques. Certaines vulnérabilités sont plus fréquentes sur ce type d’environnement technique et il est nécessaire de les détecter, de la phase de création d’une application jusqu’à la fin de son cycle de vie.

I – La sécurité sous Android et iOS : deux salles, deux ambiances

Sur le marché des smartphones, deux systèmes d’exploitation prédominent : iOS et Android. En juin 2021, leur part de marché additionnée est de 99,9% sur le marché français.

Part de marché de Apple et Android par pays

Source : Apple or Android Nation? Statista

Ces deux systèmes d’exploitation ont leurs propres spécificités en matière de développement applicatif. En effet, là où les applications iOS sont principalement programmées sous le langage Objective-C, c’est Java qui est utilisé sur Android.

Il en va de même pour leur installation, leur paramétrage, l’environnement de programmation, la conception, le test et la gestion de la stratégie de cybersécurité.

II – Les principaux types de vulnérabilités sur les applications mobiles

Avant de dresser la liste des principales vulnérabilités observées sur les applications mobiles, il est important de rappeler qu’il existe deux catégories de failles sur ce type de logiciel : le comportement non désiré et la vulnérabilité.

Le comportement non désiré survient de façon inattendue en faisant des actions superflues en arrière-plan de l’application.

On parle de vulnérabilité lorsque la faille ne résulte pas d’un comportement de l’utilisateur mais de la structure même de l’application.

Vulnérabilité n°1 : absence d’un dispositif de détection de jailbreak

Le jailbreak, aussi appelé débridage ou déverrouillage, est un processus permettant à un utilisateur de contourner les restrictions de sécurité d’un système d’exploitation à sa racine. Cette méthode est particulièrement utilisée sous iOS pour télécharger des applications qui ne sont pas présentes sur le marché officiel (à l’image de Cydia, bien connue des « jailbreakers »).

Les applications exécutées dans un environnement déverrouillé demeurent plus vulnérables et il est nécessaire de prendre ce paramètre en compte lors du développement d’une application via des systèmes de détection de jailbreak.

Vulnérabilité n°2 : protection trop faible des protocoles de transport

Les protocoles de transport TPC (Transmission Control Protocol) et IP (Internet Protocol) ont pour but de transmettre des données d’une machine à l’autre.

Schéma pour sécuriser un IP

Source : Just how secure is the TCP/IP protocol?, BBC

Que ce soit sur le web ou sur une application, il est essentiel que les données qui circulent entre les différentes couches soient sécurisées. Sans cela, elles risquent d’être interceptées par des entités malveillantes. Pour sécuriser les protocoles de transport, la bonne pratique est la mise en place d’un procédé de chiffrement des données.

Vulnérabilité n°3 : rupture d’authentification

On parle de rupture d’authentification (ou broken authentification) lorsque l’attaquant compromet un système d’authentification en usurpant un mot de passe, un identifiant de session, une clé de connexion ou d’autres informations servant à la connexion. Cette violation fréquente se traduit par 3 types d’attaques : le bourrage d’identifiant (credential stuffing), l’accès par force brute (brute force access) et le détournement de session (session hijacking).

Les conséquences d’une rupture d’authentification peuvent être la violation de données, l’usurpation d’identité ou encore le détournement. Pour pallier ce problème, il convient de forcer l’utilisateur à créer des mots de passe complexes.

Vulnérabilité n°4 : absence ou invalidité de certificat de sécurisation

La sécurisation des applications passe également par un protocole d’encryptage. Le certificat SSL/TLS ne se limite pas aux sites Internet et concerne également les applications mobiles. Pourtant, de nombreux serveurs d’applications ne disposent pas d’un certificat SSL/TLS valide.

L’installation d’un certificat SSL/TLS sur son serveur est indispensable et assure que les données des utilisateurs, stockées et en transit, restent protégées et ne sont pas compromises.

Vulnérabilité n°5 : absence d’un procédé d’expiration

Une session correspond à la période au cours de laquelle un utilisateur est actif sur votre site ou application. Si le procédé d’expiration des sessions d’une application est insuffisant (parfois même inexistant), le compte de l’utilisateur est exposé aux attaques et à la violation de ses données personnelles.

Il est donc nécessaire de trouver un juste milieu entre l’UX (ne pas demander à l’utilisateur de se reconnecter pour rendre son expérience moins agréable) et la sécurité de l’application.

Vulnérabilité n°6 : mauvaise maîtrise de la désérialisation des données

En langage programmatique, la désérialisation des données est le fait d’extraire des données d’un flux et de les convertir dans un format utile à l’application. Les moteurs de désérialisation font souvent l’objet d’attaques. Pour éviter cela, il est essentiel de toujours vérifier la provenance des données et de ne pas accepter les objets sérialisés provenant de sources non approuvées.

Vulnérabilité n°7 : utilisation de composants connus pour leur vulnérabilité

Tous les composants, frameworks et API, ne se valent pas en matière de cybersécurité. Certaines API – même populaires – sont vulnérables aux cyberattaques, et il convient de s’assurer de leur fiabilité avant de les intégrer dans la structure de votre application.

Vulnérabilité n°8 : cybersécurité insuffisante

Lorsqu’une stratégie de cybersécurité existe dans l’organisation, la mise en production d’une application doit, au minimum, respecter les règles définies. Cependant, il peut arriver que la stratégie en place ne prévoie pas de règles propres aux applications, qu’elle soit imprécise ou incomplète. Il convient alors de définir le standard de sécurisation.

On peut par exemple prévoir de mettre en place un mobile backend. Il s’agit de mettre en place un espace intermédiaire entre les échanges de données concernant l’entreprise et la sécurisation côté client. Le mobile backend sera la seule porte d’accès des applications au système d’information. Il générera des alertes aux équipes IT en cas d’usage inapproprié et se connectera de façon vraiment sécurisée, par exemple via VPN, au système d’information des entreprises. On peut par exemple prévoir de mettre en place un mobile backend. Il s’agit de mettre en place un espace intermédiaire entre les échanges de données concernant l’entreprise et la sécurisation côté client. Le mobile backend sera la seule porte d’accès des applications au système d’information. Il générera des alertes aux équipes IT en cas d’usage inapproprié et se connectera de façon vraiment sécurisée, par exemple via VPN, au système d’information des entreprises.

Conclusion

Les applications mobiles n’échappent pas aux obligations croissantes de la cybersécurité. Pour en savoir plus sur le sujet, découvrez nos 5 bonnes pratiques pour sécuriser une application mobile.

Vous avez un projet d’application et souhaitez mettre toutes les chances de votre côté pour qu’elle soit sécurisée et performante ? Demandez des conseils à nos spécialistes en cybersécurité !

Contactez-nous

Partagez cet article !